What I’m lovin’ Wednesday: walking.

With nothing but sun and above-seasonal temperatures in store for Calgary for the next week, I’ll be covering a lot of pavement.

I can’t think of a better way to spend my time than walking around a city and exploring. Add a puppy and some music and I’d be ecstatic.

This past weekend, I grabbed two friends and headed outside. On Saturday we explored Prince’s Island Park, Kensington, and make out point the Crescent Heights look out.

photo 1

Sunday, we headed to The Rockies and I had the pleasure of introducing both of them to Sulphur Mountain in Banff and Lake Lousie.

photo 2

I live in a very beautiful province, and I need to spend more of my time exploring it.

Another reason that heel-toe’n it is so important to me, is because there have been numerous studies that show regular exercise, as low impact as walking, can be successful at limiting many health risks.

Check out my latest article for CLUBLIFE Magazine about the benefits of walking for women:

It’s as easy as putting one foot in front of the other. A recent European study discovered walking could decrease the risk of stroke in women.

Over 19,000 women and 13,000 men were part of the study that monitored physical activity as well as diet, lifestyle habits and medical history. They were all between the ages of 29 and 69 and participated in the study for at least 10 years. It found women who walked for approximately 3.5 hours per week at a moderate intensity were at lower risk of stroke than those who did not engage in regular walking.

But in an age of convenience, how can we possibly walk more…

To read the full article, click here.

Tags: , , , ,

2 responses to “What I’m lovin’ Wednesday: walking.”

  1. Sister says :

    Soooo gorgeous! I hope it’s sunny next time I come to AB

  2. Tara @I'm Fit Possible says :

    Hi Laura, I love the article that you wrote!!! So well written-you have a real talent girl! Oh and LOVE those mountain pics. I can’t wait to get my butt back to Calgary! Cheers, Tara

Leave a Reply

