Born to style.

Since I was little I always thought myself to be a great aesthetician and hair dresser. I waxed my own eyebrows, cut my mom’s bangs, and gave my sister fire-engine red peekaboo highlights. Yes, even after doing all of that, I still thought I was good.

With the help of Pinterest I’ve spent an entire month trying new hairstyles. My arsenal includes blow dryers, round brushes, curling irons, a straightener, and my new favourite tool, a magic wand.

On the other hand, I have an unhealthy relationship with dry shampoo and aerosol hairspray, I trim my bangs with kitchen scissors, and let my hair grow out far too long that my roots are to my ears. I need hair help.

That’s probably why I got an invite from Aveda Institute in downtown Calgary to learn a few tricks of the trade and three styles seen on the runways of New York Fashion Week in Christian Siriano’s shows. Hello, Project Runway!

Aveda’s Lead Educator Katelyn and current student Erin showed me a few of the smoke-and-mirror tricks behind gorgeous hair.

KrystinErin

What better way to arrive at a salon than in style? And by style I mean with wind blown tangled hair that was slightly damp still. Also, I’m not sure I brushed it that morning. Sadly, I wasn’t the one getting the hair makeover.

bun

First up: a piece-y side bun with a simple twist.

This look only took a minute to put together, and is great for all lengths of hair. I knew this one would be a winner for me.

fishtail

Second: a messy fishtail.

Any “braid” besides the regular three-strand type has me stumped. Some how Katelyn broke it down and made it easy. Now, if only she taught me to french braid.

braids

Last up: double fishtail up-do. Just a week earlier, I did this same look with three-strand braids. The fishtail makes it look much more classy and grown up. I looked a bit like Heidi.

I’ve recreated all three looks at home, and you know what? not that tough. While I shocked myself to know I can rock a few do’s, I’m no professional.

That’s where Born to Style comes into play. Are you interested in becoming a hair stylist?  The Aveda Institute wants to make your dreams come true. The beauty school leader is giving away over $65,000 in scholarships through their four major styling schools in Calgary, Vancouver, Winnipeg, and Toronto.

Interested prospective students must show why they are “Born to Style” through a video submission showcasing their talent and passion for styling. Five finalists from each region will compete in a live style-off and runway show in the Spring where a panel of style and beauty judges will select the winner and award them with a full scholarship to the Aveda Institute.

Contest details and submissions can be found online at http://www.borntostyle.ca. Entry submission closes March 17th with the final runway shows taking place in May 2013.

What a crazy opportunity!

What’s your usual hair style? Do you like to try new do’s or explore Pinterest for the latest trend?

Tags: , , , , ,

One response to “Born to style.”

  1. misty_hamel says :

    Love the hair styles here! I recently had to have my hair cut pretty short in order to fix a home cut I tried to give myself, so I get where you are coming from. Feeling like a pro and being a pro are two entirely different things! 😉

Leave a Reply

