Sunday morning playlist.

It was one of those mornings. You know the mornings where facing life outside the bedroom door seems insurmountable – and where hyperbole seems faultless.

There is only one cure: a perfect playlist paired with the strongest coffee you can find.

Cigarettes and Coffee – Otis Redding
Hallelujah – Jeff Buckley
She’s Only Happy In The Sun – Ben Harper
These Arms Of Mine – Ottis Redding
If It Kills Me (Acoustic) – Jason Mraz
All The Same – Sick Puppies
I Can’t Get Next To You – Al Green
New York I Love You, But You’re Bringing Me Down – LCD Soundsystem
Ho Hey – The Lumineers

Thankfully, strong coffee is two blocks west.

music

The trick is to put your headphones on and turn the volume up until you cannot hear the sounds of the city. No horns, no people chattering into their cellphones, no music blaring from the pubs already open along the street. Do this, and walk.

And that’s what I did. I walked. A city can become so romantic when you experience it on your own terms.

Two hours later, Sunday doesn’t seem so bad. Now, if you’ll excuse me, Dorian Gray is staring from the couch and he does not like to be kept waiting.

doriangray

What are your tips to get out of a funk?

Tags: , , , , ,

4 responses to “Sunday morning playlist.”

  1. Katy @ fit in heels says :

    You are officially so much cooler than me. My playlist would involve really embarrassing songs by Billy Ocean, Nickelback (if they’re Canadian, why t f isn’t the spelling Nickleback? Or is it?), Boyz II Men and Chumbawumba. I’m ashamed.

  2. Jen says :

    Great playlist! I tend to go run when I am in a funk 🙂

  3. Sara Turner (@Turner_SR) says :

    Love that playlist! I also often have to throw my headphones in and drown out the world!

Leave a Reply

