Early bird.

I’m not an early-morning exerciser. I often get light headed and feel like I’m going to puke. Spin class on a semi-empty stomach might be the worst. A red-faced, sweaty mess is the last thing you want to see stumbling off a spin bike.

The one exception is yoga. Since it is supposed to be practiced on an empty stomach, I am always fine with an early morning class. The only downside is the early morning.

Last weekend, Rebecca convinced me that an 8 a.m. hot class at Yoga Passage was a great idea. I’m sure I was drunk when I agreed to go. Who would set their alarm for 7 a.m. on a Saturday? BY CHOICE!?

I also agreed because I love Yoga Passage. And because it is on Passport to Prana.

Located in the heart of the city, it is a quick walk from home. It’s on the second floor of a small brick building and has two studios with plenty of windows to watch the sun rise, or set depending on the time.

On Saturday I watched the sun rise from my mat – that’s one way to say hello to the Universe…flowing through a sweet sun salutation at dawn.

Screen Shot 2013-01-20 at 1.33.48 PM

I usually set up my mat over by that large canvas print of the bridge in the tree tops.

I don’t think I can express eloquently why I love it at Yoga Passage. It isn’t anything tangible, but more of a feeling. A sense of belonging in my practice and in the space. It feels like a yoga home.

When chatting with the ladies at Passport to Prana, I specifically pointed out Yoga Passage to try and add to the list of studios. I want more people in Calgary to experience this place.

And take Gord’s class; you won’t be sorry.

Are you a morning or evening exerciser? 

Tags: , , , ,

2 responses to “Early bird.”

  1. Jenna says :

    That sounds like such a beautiful experience! I am such an early morning exerciser. I can’t do it in the evening. First thing when I get up is definitely right for me! I don’t know what it is about getting my sweat on first thing, but I love it!! Spa ❤

  2. EmilyS says :

    I was always an early morning exerciser, mainly because I was a 5pm excuse maker!

Leave a Reply

