It’s not okay.

This week has been crazy busy. Between meetings, catching up from vacation, a magazine print deadline and the sprinkle of fun activities, I’ve had minimal relaxation time. It continued this weekend with my Saturday spent at the Baby & Tot Show.

If you’re ever looking for a way to deter yourself from having children for a few years, this is the exhibit to visit. So much screaming and everything smelled like poop.

Since it was in a convention centre the food options were limited to that you’d find at a football game. Hotdogs and hamburgers, nachos, etc. Since I was running on a whopping four hours of sleep I didn’t have time to pack a lunch and settled on the chicken fingers and fries. It had been forever since I treated myself to something deep fried and delicious – now seemed like the perfect time.

As I sat and ate my lunch, I chatted with my coworker about the norm – boys, life, work, boys. This was until we were rudely interrupted by a complete stranger.

“Should you really be eating that?” she scoffed.

“Yup!” I said.

“So, you’re going to the gym after?”

“Nope!”

At this point my blood was boiling. What gave this total stranger the right to try and fat shame me? She knows nothing about me. She doesn’t know of my mostly-veggie dinner the night before, the steel cut oats I had for breakfast, or the large salad I was having as part of my dinner. She knew nothing about the anxiety I have faced all my life when it comes to food, or the help I have sought out for it. She knew nothing about my broken leg and how I wish I could get back into the gym.

Did I ask her if she should really have a child? No…even though some people should not be able to mould the thoughts of others.

So, ladies, now we’re calling each other fat, and sluts, and too skinny, and stupid, and boring, and too smart, and this, and that, and the other. STOP IT!

I may not be a size 2, but that’s my business not anyone else’s. But incase you’re curious: I don’t want to be a size 2.

Moral of this story? Two part: It is NOT okay to shame anyone AND mind your own business, lady!

Tags: , , , ,

6 responses to “It’s not okay.”

  1. Krista* says :

    OMG. The nerve! Who does that?! I am insta-angry for you right now, girl!! There are people out there who find the need to degrade others to feel better about themselves. So uncalled for. You’re right, she doesn’t know anything about you! I’m sorry this b*tch had to cross your path.

    You are a beautiful person – inside and out. Even with your broken leg and cane 😉 You are so kind, and so honest. Don’t let her bring you down.

    If you see her again, you send her my way! 😉

  2. Katy@ Fit In Heels says :

    You are a better person than I am- first of all, I’d have bitch slapped that ho, and stolen her stroller. Second, I agree with you- women are SO brutal to each other! You are a strong, beautiful woman with class and clearly a level of poise that she must have lost in poopy diapers.

  3. Kat says :

    That is so rude! We all have our own things going on in life…no one should judge”

  4. Tara says :

    I am angry for you. I am also so proud that you took the high road and didn’t stoop to that persons level. Eat the chicken fingers and fries and enjoy them…YOLO!!!!

  5. IHeartVegetables says :

    Oh my gosh that is SO rude! People are so crazy sometimes. At leat you took the high road!

  6. EmilyS says :

    Seems like you and I have had similar tirades lately. The whole “mean girls” attitude that women have for each other is really making me scared to have a daughter. However, with smart, funny and beautiful women like you in her life, there is hope!

Leave a Reply

