First and last.

Happy October!

It looks like we are skipping fall here in Calgary and going straight to winter. The forecast is calling for snow on Wednesday; thank goodness I’ll be jet-setting to Vancouver and Victoria with mom. There is no part of me ready for snow and while this brace is on I can’t fit my leg into my boots.

After seeing Katy and Emily take part in Foodie Pen Pals (I’m such a copier – they are the coolest, it makes sense) I was curious to know what all the hype was about and decided to sign up for September. A stranger sending me goodies? It’s my two favorite things combined: mail and presents.

My name was given to the lovely Helen from What Happened Next… After a few questions to get to know me she hopped around and put together what she considered the perfect care package for me.

A package sent from BC to Alberta with Argos stamps. I liked her automatically. A girl after my Toronto heart! It doesn’t take much.

I liked her even more once I opened the package.

  • Gold fish crackers
  • Larabar
  • Vel seed bar
  • Curry paste
  • Quinoa crunchies
  • Tea
  • Dried peaches
  • Chocolate filled raspberry licorice
  • And a beautiful card that I can only assume was handmade since it has such gorgeous detail.

I wanted to dig in right away and I did! A nibble here, a bite there. I loved that the peaches were from a town close by; trying local products is such a treat and hard to come by. So special. My favorite thing had to be the licorice! It is also Helen’s. She admitted in the card that she bought a package for me and for her but ended up eating both so she had to go and buy a third pack. I need to find these around me. I couldn’t stop eating them. Delicious!

Thanks so much, Helen! Loved it.

That being said, I don’t think this is for me. As much as I love to cook and bake and try new restaurants, I’m not one to post recipes or much food stuff on s&s. I love food because of the community it creates. Having people sitting at my table and conversing warms my heart. This did not leave me with the same feeling. Thus, my first and my last.

If it does sound interesting to you I urge you to sign up. Following this link and get your name down before October 5 to be paired up for this month.

Speaking of mail and presents, I am happy to announce that Kammie is my lucky birthday giveaway winner.

I’ve sent you an email. xo

Tags: , ,

7 responses to “First and last.”

  1. EmilyS says :

    Those licorice things look amahhhhzing!!

  2. Caroline says :

    This food looks delicious! I love the idea of foodie pen pals, but have never tried it and at this point don’t really intend to. However, I do love reading all that others’ receive!

  3. Kat says :

    Looks like a yummy delivery! Dangit I didn’t win! 😉

  4. Jenna says :

    Awh! Glad u atleast tried it out!! I love foodie pen pals! Have a happy Monday! Spa love!!

  5. Michelle @Push.Pump.Progress says :

    looks like you got a great package from your penpal! and Katy and Emily are awesome!

  6. Alison says :

    Those licorice things look amazing!! I love care packages, actually I love mail!! I am a Calgary girl too and I was loving our weather, please not snow yet!!! ek.

Leave a Reply

