A cautionary tale.

Remember last Saturday when I was bouncing about getting into the mountains and going for a hike?

Well it happened. Rebecca and I put on our sweat gear and headed out reasonably early for a morning-after housewarming party.

ya, we arm wrestle at parties. what’s it to ya?

More huffing and puffing and sweating. It felt good. I was motivated to be working on fitness again and not in the confinement of gym walls.

Then. Then I lost my footing on set of stairs heading down the hill. I took a nasty spill, and had an even worse landing.

I don’t think that grapefruit is supposed to be there.

OUCH!

So maybe I screamed something a little less PG than ouch. Have you every screamed at the top of your lungs? It’s fun. I had never done it, but it felt so so good to yell and howl to express my pain. That’s also when I knew it was bad news since, as mentioned, I’ve never felt compelled to yell in pain.

Thank goodness we were near the end of the path, so I was able to drag my foot behind me to make it back to the parking lot. We headed to the urgent care clinic and 6 hours later I got in to get an X-Ray.

The cute doctor (who resembles someone I’ve made out with back home) broke the bad news to me: fractured tibia.

Cue tears (after cute doctor leaves, of course) and sadness. To allow the swelling to go down I was outfitted with a half cast and a set of crutches.

I’ve spent the majority of the week laid up on the couch, I’m glad the Olympics are on or else I’d be going crazier than I am already. Laying around when it is forced and not chosen is damn boring.

Got in to see the orthopedic surgeon yesterday and got a few more X-Rays done. More fun news: along with the fractured tibia I have ligament damage. Hooray!

So what does that all mean?

As you read this I’m probably at the hospital being admitted into surgery. Yup, my first surgery.
I’m emotional and slightly (fully) terrified. I’m not sure what to expect but I am happy that I am going to be fixed sooner rather than later.

Moral of the story: hiking is for suckers.

I’ll see you on the other side. xo

6 responses to “A cautionary tale.”

  1. Mindy @Road Runner Girl says :

    Oh no!!! SO sorry girl! I hope the surgery goes well and that you recover quickly! Hugs!

  2. Jenna says :

    Oh, you poor thing!!!!!! So sorry to hear about your injury!! Best of luck with surgery and make sure to take Los of recovery time!! SPaLove!

  3. Krista* says :

    Ugh!! So sorry to hear that lady! I can’t even imagine being in pain like that… I hope everything with your surgery turns out wonderfully, and I’m sure, knowing you, you’ll be back at it in no time! 🙂

  4. Debbish says :

    Oh no! So sorry to hear….. and yes, that lump is HUGE (and I mean that in the nicest possible way!!!)

    Hope it all goes well. Rest up!

    Deb

  5. Colleen says :

    Yep, that sucks. No doubt about that. I’m sorry your hiking ended on a miserable note, but on a positive note, you got to be energized and excited for exercise again. I know that it’ll be a while until you do any form of real sweating but you have a memory other than gym walls to look back on. You’ll be fine in surgery, just do exactly what the doctor recommends. I know that forced nothingness really stinks, I’ve been there, I recommend coloring books and knowing someone with a library card. Keep us updated!

Trackbacks / Pingbacks

  1. Skinny leg syndrome. « scribbles & sass - August 8, 2012

Leave a Reply

