Mountains out of mole hills.

The body is a little creaky today. It’s second-day pain. You know what I’m talking about, when you do a workout but you body doesn’t feel it till two days after.

I laced up the sneakers on Thursday and ventured into my backyard. I’ve talked often about walking along the river and flaking out in the grass, but this is the first time I took on the hill behind it. Through dirt and mud, up stairs and inclines, and trying to avoid roots and bugs I got to this:

What do you mean I’m not at the top yet?!

This trail, up the hill {mountain, oh my goodness I’m out of shape} is about 10 minutes from my house. I live in the middle of a city of 1.1 million people but I’m in the wilderness. Amazing!

So after huffing and puffing and praying someone would just put me and my bright pink, sweaty face out of my misery – ya, I’m a bit dramatic, deal with it –  I took the remaining stairs and path to the official look out.

ta da!

I loved being on top of the trees and felt mighty accomplished to conquer even the littlest of mountains.

It also has me aware of how badly I need to increase my cardiovascular endurance. Maybe the idea of running again isn’t such a bad thing.

So I started thinking, “Why don’t I do this more often? I live in the freakin’ Rocky Mountains for goodness sake.”

Self, you’re one smart girl. A trip into the mountain range and a second hike tomorrow? I’m looking forward to it!

A little link love. My #SweatPink sista, Amy, featured a few of us and our Aha Moments when it came to fitness. My yoga journey is one of them. Read it HERE.

I definitely had a bit of a “aha” on the top of this hill.

What’s your “aha” fitness moment?

Trackbacks / Pingbacks

  1. A cautionary tale. « scribbles & sass - August 3, 2012

Leave a Reply

