Un-Birthday

Now statistics prove
That you’ve one birthday
Imagine just one birthday every year
Ah, but there are 364 unbirthdays
Precisely why we’re gathered here to cheer

that's me, as Alice.

(source)

Yesterday was my half birthday. 26.5 (and one day).

For as long as I can remember, our family has celebrated half birthdays. I think it was something mom really liked to do since her’s falls just after Christmas. She says she has the perfect birthday since it’s in the middle of the year. She gets to celebrate every six months (and whenever else she chooses). She also just loved making a big deal of me and sister.

from sister.

Not related, but also fantastic, Katey made cupcakes – and we went to a porch crawler party.

We pretty much love anything tie-dye around here.

I also made Cake Batter Cheesecake Squares and No-Bake Peanut Butter Bars. I’d take photos of my desserts but I suggest you just click on the links because mine didn’t turn out as pretty as my sources.

I never mind celebrating with sweets, or a porch crawler (aka beer, gin and lemonade – don’t knock it till you’ve tried it) and especially great friends.

I really miss my family.

So, is it just us or do you celebrate your half birthday, too?

5 responses to “Un-Birthday”

  1. sister says :

    I forgot to send you these yesterday…
    Happy half birthday +1

    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=LNVberuquoQ and http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=dpzwbcrKDFs

  2. The Teenage Taste says :

    Happy Half Birthday to you! Glad you enjoyed the cheesecake bars!

  3. Graeme Perrow (@GraemePerrow) says :

    We don’t celebrate half-birthdays, but in a way, we kind of do. My birthday is six months and a day after my mom’s, my younger son’s is six months and a day after my dad’s, and my wife’s is six months and a week after my sister’s. I never realized any of that before. Weird!

    Happy half-birthday!

  4. Josie says :

    Happy 1/2 Birthday! I have never celebrated one but any excuse to eat cupcakes is good enough for me 😉

  5. Katy @ Fit In Heels says :

    I SO need to get on this!!!! Happy Half Birthday, my love!!! My half birthday is coming up so soon. My half anniversary is on Valentine’s Day, so that doesn’t count. I need a Valentine’s gift, a half anniversary gift, and a real anniversary gift. All made of diamonds.

Leave a Reply

