I said I would never.

You’re about to witness me break two promises to myself.

1. After I busted apart my ankle, I told myself I wouldn’t dance again.

So technically I broke that promise last week, but I did again last night. A fellow Toronto transplant, Rebecca, talked me into getting my butt back into the studio for hip hop. A good choice. I didn’t injure myself doing hip hop, it would take less out of my ankle than other styles, and it’s less “technical”. I use the quotes because as much as it is supposed to be loose and freestyle, there is a very distinct art to it.

I’m sticking to drop-in classes at a studio downtown. I may branch out from hip hop, but for now it is safe and I am having so much fun. I do need someone to teach me how to be a bit more thug. Don’t let the appearance fool you, I can get down, but some moves still look too prissy.

I’ve very happy to be back in the studio. It really is the happiest I remember me being in a long time, plus I am a wicked good dancer. Like super good. (here is my horn, watch me toot it)

 

2. I said I wouldn’t post a recipe here. It’s just not what I do.

After posting that photo to twitter yesterday, there were a few requests. Who am I to say no?

Three Ingredient Macaroons (lemon)
3 eggs
3 cups shaved coconut
zest of 1 lemon

Beat eggs vigorously until they are slightly frothy. Add coconut and lemon zest, mix by hand. Mix until all coconut shavings have been coated, it will feel a bit loose. Let the mixture stand for 5 minutes to allow the coconut to absorb some egg. Place tablespoon size mounds of mixture onto parchment lined baking sheets. Bake 18-22 minutes at 375 degrees. Cool.

Since they are so easy to make, I went back for a second batch after I got home from dance.

Three Ingredient Macaroons (chocolate)
3 eggs
3 cups shaved coconut
1 cup semi-sweet chocolate chips

Beat eggs vigorously until they are slightly frothy. Add coconut, mix by hand. Mix until all coconut shavings have been coated, it will feel a bit loose. Let the mixture stand for 5 minutes to allow the coconut to absorb some egg. Place tablespoon size mounds of mixture onto parchment lined baking sheets. Bake 18-22 minutes at 375 degrees. Cool.

Melt chocolate chips in a double-boiler. Once macaroons are cool, dunk the bottoms into the melted chocolate. Place on a parchment-lined baking sheet. Refrigerate until the chocolate is solid and macarooms peel off parchment easily. I did it overnight.

I don’t like to play favourites, but if I had to I’d pick the lemon. The zest packs a powerful punch. You can always make these “Four Ingredient Macaroons” and make the lemon ones and dunk them in chocolate.

I’m off to be the most popular girl at work. Baked goods for everyone 😉

6 responses to “I said I would never.”

  1. Katy @ Fit In Heels says :

    Hellllllllls to the yes for the Hip Hop and the recipe. You are freaking so cool. Now kindly send me some.

  2. sister says :

    you know when people say “wicked good” I hear it in a Boston accent.
    ps: i heart Boston
    pps: you are wicked awesome

  3. Elle says :

    Um I hate you for posting this amazing recipe, for me trying it, and eating way too many!!!

    But really thank you because they are so amazing 🙂

  4. Krista* says :

    Hip hop sounds so fun! I’m glad you had such a great time! If it’s making you this happy… you best be keeping it up!! 😀

    And thanks for such a simple recipe! Looks delish 🙂 I hate cooking, can barely bake… This seems right up my alley!!

  5. queeniecarly says :

    Never say never, right? 😉

  6. Justine says :

    love the recipe! and love youuuuuuu!!!
    ❤ ❤ ❤

Leave a Reply

