It’s okay if it’s in a three-way.

I have to hold it down for a Canadian company….mainly because you know they’ll ship to Canada.

Not only is Vega a Canadian company, they also offer some pretty wicked nutrition products that are clean and plant-based…my favourite being the Chocolate Decadence Vibrancy Bar.

So when I got the chance to try out the brand new Vega Sport products, I was all over it.

In all its glory.

My samples arrived with just enough time to get me through my race training. What perfect timing, looks like someone was blog and/or twitter stalking me. That’s a great thing. Seriously, Twitter-stalk me people. It makes me feel loved.

The unique part about Vega Sport is that it was developed in three comprehensive stages to help you perform at your best before, during, and after training.


Prepare 20 to 30 minutes before your workout with the pre-workout energizer, which is balanced to provide both instant and slower-burning fuel. May I suggest Lemon-Lime. It may look a little nasty (above) but it tastes great and has absolutely no chalky taste. The Acai Berry flavour was too sweet for me. Guess I’m already sweet enough.

One thing that always seems to surprise me is how unbelievably slow time moves when I try to run.

From the side of the Vega Sport box.

You’ve got to be kidding me? I’m not even at two miles yet? Haven’t I been running for four days?

This is where Sustain comes in handy. When you need that extra oomph to push harder and last longer, Vega Sport has you covered.

Raspberry. You're welcome.

While I thought the endurance bars were really tasty, I liked the ease the gel provided. I had one of these puppies packed in my jacket pocket during my race and it was super simple to open and digest while moving. Yes, I am The Flash.

I loved seeing dates and coconut oil on the ingredients list. Healthy and real ingredients to fuel my body. Vega Sport Endurance Gel is also the only gel on the market to feature coconut oil, a medium-chain triglyceride metabolized in the liver to provide instant, non-carbohydrate energy.

It’s also a very yummy way to ingest electrolytes and vitamins during workouts.

My favourite part of the Vega Sport products? Recover.


Not only does it mean the torture is over, but it also means I get to eat chocolate bars. Fifteen grams of chocolaty protein that is good to strengthen and regenerate my muscles. Thank you!

Delicious! I look happy but all I was thinking was, “Now if you don’t mind, I’m going to pass out on my floor because my legs have no energy left after that run.” Thankfully the Recover products help you get back to it sooner by replenishing your system, repairing muscles tissue, and reducing inflammation. To put it simply: your legs remember what they are supposed to do after a bar or shake {and a quick cat nap}.

I can appreciate the amount of science that has gone into the development of Vega’s products. Though not every one of the flavours I tried was for me, I did find ones I liked and now truly understand what types of fat, carbs and protein our bodies need while in movement. Like to learn? Read more on the Vega Sport website.

One last awesome thing to leave you with…which you will share with me if you win: Vega Sweepstakes!

Enter to win the Vega Sport Sweepstakes with over $30,000 in prizes!

Sweepstakes Entry Period: January 3rd – March 31, 2012
Enter @ www.vegasport.com/sweepstakes

One Grand Prize
Vega Sport Adventure Trip for 2:
Cycle, raft and explore your way through Nicaragua, Costa Rica and Panama for 15 days
$5,000 in Vega Sport product
($15,000 value)

Ten Runner Up Prizes
$1000 in Vega Sport products

Twenty Finalist Prizes
$200 in Vega Sport products

Five Weekly Prizes (per week for 11 weeks)
1 Vega Sport product

Weekly prize winners will be announced weekly via social media!  Find Vega on Twitter & Facebook to find out if you are the lucky winner of our Weekly Prizes.

Yes, I entered. No, I won’t share.

Thanks Cristina from Vega for sending me Vega Sport Performance to try. Product was theirs, but opinion is mine.

So, how do you get ready for your work outs (runs, weight training, Zumba, etc..), keep energy up during and recover after?

Leave a Reply

