How’d I do?

Usually, I dislike reflecting on the past. I’d much rather look into the future and figure out how I will make it exponentially better than previous.

I had quite a whirlwind 2011. I lived in three different cities, worked at two different jobs, was on six planes, went on too many bad dates to count, and drove 3,377 km across Canada. Before August I had many low points. After August I can say the same thing, but for completely different reasons.

The truth is, I couldn’t wait for the year to be over but I wouldn’t have changed a second of it. Well maybe seconds, but not minutes. We are our experiences. I am a changed person and mentally stronger because of everything that happened last year.

One thing I like to do is evaluate my goals and check in on progress. Looks like 2011 was  hit-and-miss on goals, but as long as I’m over .500 it was a successful season.

My 2011 Goals:

Meditate daily…even if just for 10 minutes. I only did this maybe once every two weeks, which makes me sad since I do love meditating.

Practice yoga at least three times a week for a minimum of 60 minutes. Maybe once a week.

Do cardio training at least three times a week for a minimum of 45 minutes. Got better the last quarter of the year, but no.

Weight train at least twice a week. Heck no.

Move to Toronto by Oct. 1, 2011. Got my keys on June 11

Have my car paid off by May 31, 2011. All mine as of April 22

Find a new job by May 31, 2011. Better late than never – September 12

Research Yoga Teacher Training and Nutrition courses to see if either is a right path for night school. I’ve ruled out nutrition courses and still think YTT is all me, but not yet.

Wash my face properly daily. Squeaky clean.

Floss more. Could do more, still not daily.

Expand my vocabulary. I still say “like” more than I’m happy with.

Mail at least 52 handwritten notes. I‘ve lost count but since I buy stamps 36 at a time, I know I’ve conquered this one.

Blog when it seems fitting – hopefully 3-5 times a week. I think I’m doing well with this one.

Get at least 6 pedicures. 3 is better than none.

When I’m thinking of someone, let them know. Have you loved your texts and emails and phone calls?

Go to the zoo. ZOO LIGHTS! on December 18

Drink more water. I’m doing swimmingly.

Try baking bread. Do biscuits count?

Cook at least 75% of all meals consumed. Getting better, but still not up to 75%.

Clean the closet and donate a bag of clothes. Two bags donated on June 8

Slow dance more. Not even once.

Explore a new Toronto neighbourhood. Hello, Beaches!

Buy a ticket to either the TSO or the COC.  Went to see Cinderella on May 22 (COC)

Make a point to improve my posture. Chin up, boobs out, I think people are noticing.

Make a list of everything that is free in Toronto/Mississauga/Oakville and take advantage. Did a bunch before I moved. Like outdoor movies, galleries, and concerts.

Dim Sum/Sushi and then to the AGO. Sonja and I got to the AGO over Christmas holiday.

Brunch and off to the ROM. Nope.

Change my morning routine so I eat breakfast at home instead of waking up ten minutes before I have to leave the house. Not often enough.

Rewrite my story. I didn’t bother to rewrite, I tossed out the old book.

Love my body. Parts of it. 

Have no credit card debt. Accomplished this then let it slide again. Flights are damn expensive.

Stop negative self-talk as soon as it starts. Work in progress.

Walk whenever realistic. Living in the city made this one super easy to accomplish. 4.5km to yoga? Check.

Smile daily – from inside. And the outside, this became a lot easier in August.

Have at least one date a month. (Jan. 6, Feb. 18, March 8, April 30, May 17, June 6, July 9, Aug. 13, Sept. 3, Oct. 20, Nov. 11, Dec. 29)

Express true emotions and thoughts daily. Be my authentic self. Love me or hate me, I did it.

Get paid to write freelance. Got a magazine article in December – I’ll post a link once it’s online.

Lose weight and define muscle to get to a “healthy me”. Oops.

Room for improvement, but I still have plenty of time ahead of me. 2012 goals being written, and I’ll share them soon.

4 responses to “How’d I do?”

  1. Katy @ Fit In Heels says :

    YAYAYAYAYYYY for Beaches 🙂 Now THAT was a good date! Check.

  2. Andrea says :

    Yay for 2010: So proud of your goals! Your run and getting your butt across country to start a new life as so inspirational.
    The one that impresses me the most is your once a month date. Mainly because you’ve tolerated weird/annoying/crazy people for long amounts time. It’s something you’ve vary rarely done without giving them the ‘I’m not impressed with you’ glare (which, by the way, makes me laugh every time). That’s an emotional growth which very few people are able to do in life. It’s so easy to change our physical being but it takes an immense amount courage to change our view or the world.Way to go!

    Ps:Thanks for not dying, wouldn’t know what I’d do without you.

Trackbacks / Pingbacks

  1. 2012 goal = less goals. « scribbles & sass - January 27, 2012

Leave a Reply

