All of you runners are bonkers.

I’d apologize for my lack of blogging, but I’m actually not sorry. I had a fantastic trip home to Toronto and was far too busy being a little butterfly to write a single thing down. So Merry Christmas and Happy New Year! I missed those, and missed you!

We’ll return to your regularly scheduled S&S in: 3….2….1…

It’s a big day for Scribbles and Sass. It’s my blog-baby’s birthday. We turn 1 today!

To mark the momentous occasion I’m sharing my Resolution Run recap. I couldn’t think of a better day.

I DID IT!

On December 31, 2011 at 9:30 a.m. I started my first-ever race. The 5km race was a fun-run, meaning there was no official chip to time the race. You had to look at the time when you crossed the start line, and then again as you finished.

The course was two loops around the Canadian National Exhibition grounds.


I’m not sure if I have read too many Healthy Living Blogs or what, but 5km is not an “easy run”. All of you people are crazy. So much further than you’d think it is. (than I thought it was?)

When sister and I were on the way to the race I felt like I was going to be sick. I never thought I had bad nerves, but I guess I haven’t done anything truly terrifying before. Here’s the thing. I’m not a runner. I don’t run. So why did you sign up for a race, you may ask? Because I wanted to prove to myself that I can do things that are beyond my imagination. What a great lesson to teach yourself heading into a new year.

Back to wanting to puke…

I was so nervous as I stood around waiting to see Jenn (who talked me into running) in the coral and for the race to start.


Ya, I’m a rebel. I didn’t wear my blue jacket that was the race swag. lululemon from head to toe, would you expect less?

I cranked my music up as loud as I could possibly stand, in hopes of drowning out my own thoughts, and started to run. I had a pretty kickin’ playlist:

Boom Boom Boom – Frank Ti-Aya ft. Yardi Don
BoysBoysBoys – Lady GaGa
Little Respect – Wheatus
Moves Like Jagger – Maroon 5
One & Only – Timbaland ft. Fallout Boy
Crazy Bitch – Buckcherry
Sexy and I Know It – LMFAO
Pause – Pitbull
Dance Wiv Me – Dizzee Rascal & Calvin Harris
Washin’ + Wonderin’ – Stroke 9
OMG – Usher ft. Will.I.Am

I made sure to pace myself and not overdo it. I was excited but not stupid. The first 2.5km went well. I was running, and I was still alive.

See. Still not dead.


As I finished the first loop, I saw sister. She was trying to take photos, while staying warm and clutching her sign for me. What a gem! I ran past her giving the thumbs down. I wanted a little extra motivation and kept motioning to her to open the sign. Looking back, it probably looked like I was asking her to flash me. Oops.

I kept trotting along with walk/run intervals until I got to the 3km mark. I hit my wall. My body hurt. This is also the time that Jenn went whizzing by me.

She’s a runner; kicks such serious ass. But even her encouraging squeeze of my arm couldn’t give me enough energy to pick up my feet that now weighed 810 lbs. I became overly emotional at this point. I was walking as fast as I possibly could, and for the first time was actually a bit scared I was going to die. It was just a joke, Universe. How scary. I was fighting off tears and could hear my mind turning thoughts of disappointment.

I switched between “you really suck” and “I never have to run again” as I tried with all my might to keep moving forward. The weirdest part of it was, as people passed me or walked along side me, I couldn’t help but think “this person is doing so great, they must feel amazing and be so proud, look at them go.” Anyone else notice just how crazy I am? Double standards. Oh the pressure we apply on ourselves.

After what seemed like hours I finally hit the 4km mark and began to pick up the pace. All I had to do was finish, that was the goal in the first place. I needed to give myself some energy so I started to high-five all the volunteers scattered along the course. I’m so weird. My running pace was pretty pathetic until I rounded the last corner. With the finish line in sight, I felt as light as a feather. I ran towards the end of it. I was almost there.


I DID IT!

As I crossed the finish line I saw Jenn.

WE DID IT!

I searched for sister. I wanted a hug and I wanted to see my sign. I crossed over to the other side of the road, and there she was holding it proudly.


I immediately started laughing – I really do have the best sister, ever. She was also the only supporter with a sign. All other runners were jealous, I know it. Most laughed at the sign, too.

After they let me know that it was raining during the run (yes, I had no idea. I was concentrating on not dying, remember?) we celebrated with brunch and a bunch of bragging to strangers.

Is it nap time yet?

So, I’m done. What now?

On New Years Eve, I repeated numerous times that I would never run again. I proved to myself that it was possible and that was that.

Six days after, I have run twice and looked into 5km races in March and April. Is it because I realized I actually loved running? NOPE! I want a medal! Swag me up, baby. I need more than just a race bib to prove how crazy I am. The Game of Life run on April 29 in Vancouver, BC looks most tempting. It is rather inexpensive, it’s in Vancouver in Stanley Park, AND:


Talk about serious goodies!

Long story short, I am extremely proud of myself. I never believed I could finish a race, especially after my injury. I didn’t have the best time, I didn’t have the best run, and I realized I am horribly out of shape. All that matters now is that I told myself I could accomplish a daunting task, and I did it. That, and I think all of you runners are such nut jobs!

11 responses to “All of you runners are bonkers.”

  1. Bri says :

    First of all, YAY!!!!!!! Like it or not, you’re a runner! Welcome to crazy-land!! 🙂 second of all, wearing race swag on race day is a no-no. Just a helpful hint from one runner to another 🙂 So proud of you darling!!! You did it!

  2. sister says :

    love this!
    it was cool to go see a race (not motivational to run one, ick)…that was a really fun day

    and – everyone WAS totally jealous of the sign

  3. Erin says :

    Congrats!! I was excited to see Stroke 9 on your playlist! I don’t know many people that like or have even heard of that band!

  4. Elle says :

    Whoo Hoo You are so awesome!!! Thanks for the great playlist, I’m downloading some of the songs now 🙂

  5. Katy @ Fit In Heels says :

    HAPPY BIRTHDAY BLOG and CONGRATULATIONS!!!!!!! Love your playlist, and totally relate to that puke feeling. I’ve run tons of races and still can’t shake the day of toilet jitters. I think the answer is booze.
    So proud of you! Especially for running since the race! It’s the best motivation 🙂

  6. Krista* says :

    Congratulations on your run!! And like Bri said… You’re a runner! 😀 Finishing a race is such a great feeling!

    I. love. lululemon! I love it way too much. You should see my closet!! This might be a reason as to why I feel poor… Haha. Love finding fellow lulu lovers 🙂

Trackbacks / Pingbacks

  1. I give up. « scribbles & sass - February 23, 2012

Leave a Reply

