Here goes nothing, November.

At a different place, a different time, and a different blog I recovered from an ankle injury. In the process I gave up two things I was starting to enjoy: dance and running.

At the beginning I had to ditch both because I couldn’t even walk – seems like a good reason – but as my mobility returned I still couldn’t return to either. I couldn’t dance because it broke my heart, I was injured on stage and the thought of not being able to feel that joy again paralyzed me. It was my support ankle for kicks and turns, and the one I landed jumps with. The cartilage damage was what kept me away from the running. I didn’t inject platelets in between the bone two times and endure all that pain just to jam the cushioning out of place with my clunky running. I was a beast on the treadmill, and felt accomplished with every stride, but man it wasn’t pretty.

It’s been a year and a half since that fateful day, but it still has this odd power over me (read: I’m totally not over it, still makes me emotional. Move on, Laura, move on). A lot of things have changed since that day, and I do credit it for me finding yoga and helping me make large life decisions that once scared me, but I have really missed those two things.

I’m not ready to dance again, I wish I were but it wouldn’t be a pretty scene. I am ready to run…er, jog briskly…err, hustle my ass as quickly as possible.

I have been inspired by one of my best friends, Jenn. There are too many fantastic and crazy things to say about her, but the one I will leave you with now is that I am extremely proud of how strong she has become and determined to improving herself mentally, physically and emotionally. Jenn may also be the only person I know who can run a half marathon without a lick of training, and a few beers the night before. Repeat for 10 miler and 10k, too. She is a running machine. After her half marathon a few weeks back I sent her a little gift so she could properly display her medals.

I was so delighted that she loved it, and I cant wait to see the medals on it. (You can buy your own, here.) When she wrote to thank me, she said something that really stuck with me. “I can’t wait to buy you yours, we should run a race together.” We should what? You’re a half-marathoner and I don’t even run for the bus, I don’t even take the bus. We shouldn’t anything. But we should. Yes, we should.

So we are.

Her and I are going to freeze our butts off and do the 5k Resolution Run on New Years Eve when I’m home for Christmas holidays. Jenn is excited, Laura is terrified…wants to puke…is out of shape…talks in the third person…all of the above.

So yesterday I committed to the race by starting to train. Week 1, Day 1 of the Couch to 5k training program got me back on the treadmill last night. I forgot what it was like to challenge yourself and sweat like a crazy woman. AMAZING. I’m using this wicked App to get me through each session; it tells you when to switch between walking and running and you can use your own playlist. I love it, and yesterday I also discovered I love running to “Sexy and I Know It” by LMFAO. It’s a pumped up jam, check it out.

So there we go. I made it public, I need to get new shoes as mine are 2 years old, and I asked for running tights for Christmas from Sister. Please feel free to hold me accountable. Advice and tips are always welcome here, too. So is a cheering section with wickedly creative signs. I’ll buy the first round after the race if I don’t die. I can’t guarantee I won’t puke though.

6 responses to “Here goes nothing, November.”

  1. sister says :

    So proud of you!
    I’ll be there, with coffee, and quite possible sarcastic sign….just wait & see.

  2. Katey says :

    I’ll give a starbucks gift card for finishing (but only enough for a grande)

    And maybe a hand hug. Maybe.

  3. Y is for Yogini says :

    get it girl! 😉 also, LOVE that lmfao song. groove to it regularly.

  4. Christina @ The Athletarian says :

    WHAT?!?! I just got goosebumps!! Holy smokes I’m so excited for you! I don’t know if I will be in the city…Dean and I alway try to plan a NYE vacation but it never happens! If I am here maybe I will come and run it tooooooo! Wahooooo! I am so happy for you. You are amazing!

  5. Stacey @starpulp says :

    Way to go! What a great way to start a new year! Can’t wait to read all about it on your blog, so make sure you keep postin! 🙂

Trackbacks / Pingbacks

  1. Dear hip flexors. « scribbles and sass - November 4, 2011

Leave a Reply

