Namaste, bitches.

I love yoga!

It is a high I cannot explain. I leave class feeling taller, feeling calmer, feeling peaceful.

When I found out one of my coworkers was teaching this morning’s Breathe class at the gym, I knew I had to go and support her. Her energetic spirit, and soft voice made the class. She was beautifully supported by the dim lighting and soft music.

Music?!

I know. The yogi in me was a little thrown off by this, too. Since it wasn’t a classical yoga class and set in a gym, there was a “fitness” approach to it. One song = one muscle group. As long as I don’t enter the class hoping for a traditional style of yoga, I know I’ll appreciate the practice.

And I’m stealing the ab track!

– Bicycle crunches
– PilatesΒ  roll ups
– Pilates pulses

All done to music. Makes you burn, and makes you wiggle.

Today’s class made me crave the studio again. I’m waiting to fall in love with a space here like I did in Toronto. Thankfully I am equipped with my Passport to Prana to help aid the search, and great suggestions from the yogi’s I’ve run into.

In the meantime, I have Eoin Finn in my bedroom.

(source)

I mean, on DVD to practice in my bedroom. He makes my hips happy.

(source)

Next yoga goal: arm balances.

It’s like ‘what is up?’ My legs, that’s what!

Watch this if you don’t mind a bit of naughty language:

Love your favourite spastic yogi!

Other great yoga reads:

– The Overheated, Oversexed Cult of Bikram Choudhury

– Anything from Lo at Y is for Yogini

7 responses to “Namaste, bitches.”

  1. Christina @ The Athletarian says :

    Yay for yoga! I wish I could do arm balances! They are SO hard for me! Katy is REALLY good at them. Like INSANELY good.

  2. Stephanie says :

    The yoga that I’ve done in a gym is so different from a studio. The two aren’t really comparable. While I’ve taken gym yoga classes that I’ve enjoyed, they didn’t feed my soul the way that yoga taught by dedicated teachers did.

  3. Katy @ Fit In Heels says :

    Hahahahahah “It’s like, what is up? My legs, that’s what!” best quote ever. I love the title- I have to stop myself from saying that every time I end the class with Namaste. I’m so glad you found a great studio and instructor! I have a massive crush on mine. It’s unhealthy.

  4. Elle Hattan (@ElleHattan) says :

    That video made me laugh. out loud. at work. You are awesome πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

