Guest Post: Karen from Toronto Girl West

Right about now I hope I’m speeding through Winnipeg, but thanks to the magic of scheduled posts I am appearing in your Google Reader and/or inbox.
While I make the drive with momma, I have reached out to some fabulous bloggers who have also made a big change in the last few years.
Today, I am delighted to share with you a few tips from Karen. I am SOO thankful for this post, as I was worried about a lot of things when it came to my new life. This saucy kitten sets my nerves straight. I’m really looking forward to her last point 😉
Without further ado, Karen take it away:
___________________________________________
Hello all! My name is Karen and I blog over at Toronto Girl West. Today, I’m standing in for Laura because she’s in the midst of a move from Toronto to Calgary.
As someone who’s moved a lot over the years I know Laura’s probably busy getting settled in and starting to unpack. And if there’s something else I know, it’s that Laura is going to love it in the West!!!
You see, some years ago I made the move from my beloved Toronto to Victoria, British Columbia for law school. I won’t lie, it came as a bit of a culture shock (I had to lose some of my go-go-go Toronto ways), and it took some getting used to. But pretty soon I found myself settling in and loving every moment!
In fact, I loved it so much that at the end of law school and articling (like an apprenticeship year that lawyers have to do in Canada) I didn’t go back to Toronto. I no longer live in Victoria, instead I live in the Southern British Columbia Rockies – a spectacular geographic location and relatively close to Laura’s new home (blogger get together anyone?).
So without further ado, I thought I would show you some of the fantastic things Laura can look forward to as a Toronto girl in the West!
Spectacular Banff National Park
One of the best things about Calgary is how close it is to the gorgeous Banff National Park. I’ve spent my fair share of time in Banff and I rave about it to everyone.
Want to go for a gorgeous hike that’s still easily accessible? You can do it in Banff! Want to hang out in lovely hot spring pools during a gentle snowfall? You can do it in Banff! Want to rent a lodge room and enjoy rustic luxury at it’s finest? Well . . . you get the point!
Banff is an amazing place!!!

Fun with the Locals
If there’s one thing I’ve discovered in my many visits to Calgary, it’s that it’s a laid back city that likes to have fun. Whether it be a festival, some sort of sporting event, or just a late summer afternoon on the patio. Once Laura settles in, she’ll have a blast!
Seksi Cowboys
What!?!? You think I’m kidding!?!?!? No ma’am!
When it comes to fine looking men in a nice pair of jeans, Calgary doesn’t mess around. In fact, it’s home to the Stampede. Which is basically the world rodeo championships. Say hello to the finest collection of strapping young lads you ever did see! Good times indeed!!!
Boys and Puppies
I know this may seem like a strange one but there’s a reason why it made the cut. You see, when I moved out West I was ending a bad relationship. Next thing I knew I was far away from my parents, friends, and the city I loved. But what I didn’t know was that there was something better waiting for me.
Out West I met the Boy (or as he’s now known on my blog, the Husband). And well I also met the other love of my life, my puppy Daisy. Together we’ve formed a little family of three and we’re as happy as can be.
So this is just my way of saying to Laura that there are marvelous adventures and maybe a fairy tale or two waiting for her in the West! You’re going to have the time of your life girly!!!!!
That’s all for me but I’m sure Laura will be back soon to regale you with stories of her cross-country trip, in the meantime feel free to drop by Toronto Girl West and say hello!
Leave a Reply

