Who cares if you’re running in circles, as long as you’re on the track.

Making breakfast is reserved to weekends and holidays. On any other days it is defined as toasting bread, pouring cereal, or grabbing a yogurt and piece of fruit on the way out the door. I enjoy my sleep much more than I do standing over a stove in the morning.

Today that changed. If I wanted a healthy breakfast I knew I needed to cook. May I present to you my Vegan Banana Pancakes.

No syurp needed.

Vegan Banana Pancake

What you’ll need have:
1/2 cup millet
1/2 cup buckwheat
1/2 cup + 1/4 cup milk (I use almond milk)
2 bananas – one whole, one cut into thin slices

What you’ll need to do:
The night before combine the millet and buckwheat in a container, cover with water and let soak overnight.
The next morning, drain off the grains and add to a blender with the 1/2 cup of milk and one banana. Blend. If the batter is thick use the extra 1/4 cup of milk to thin the consistency.
Heat a non-stick pan to medium-high and spray with a little non-stick spray (just to be safe). I also add a bit of coconut oil to the pan for healthy fat and deliciousness.
Pour hockey puck sized rounds of batter into the hot pan and top with 2-3 slices of banana. Cook 1-2 minutes per side. Look for a light golden colour.

The bananas will be caramelized and so yummy. You’ll thank me. Make these. Or call me over and I’ll make them.

Mix breakfast with lots of greens and protein for lunch and dinner and I’m happy to say I actually missed being prepared and healthy.

Can you send me some mail? I really really enjoy getting it! I got a card from Carly earlier this week, and today this:

Isn't this pretty?

I was so impressed by the packaging I didn’t even want to open it. I did after some convincing.

Your turn.

Before I go make some tea and unwind for the night I’ll leave you with one last bit of me news. I’m working towards more of my goals and just applied for a freelance position writing on health and fitness. Yay me!

Trackbacks / Pingbacks

  1. Guest Post: Laura - August 10, 2011

Leave a Reply

