Warm fuzzies on a sleepy Monday.

I couldn’t drag my butt out of bed today. It could have been that time change (damn you daylight savings) or perhaps my Canadian Music Week late night adventure to Cherry Cola Rock n’ Rolla Cabaret. It  doesn’t matter the reason, facts are facts: I’m tired.

Busy Mondays don’t do much for my sparkling disposition, but when I arrived to the office this morning, tea in hand, I did a little media snooping monitoring I found the most lovely note in the Thunder Bay Chronicle Journal.

A 20-second connection young fan won’t forget

Saturday, March 12, 2011

Last Saturday night we sat courtside (at the urging of my 10-year-old son, Isaac) for the Ontario University Athletics men’s basketball final between the Carleton Ravens and Lakehead Thunderwolves. He was in awe as we took in the pre-game shoot-around — when a stray basketball bounded his way. As he flipped it back to Lakehead guard Benjamin Johnson, instead of a simple nod from Ben, he engaged Isaac and actually invited him to take a shot. When Isaac’s first jumper fell short, he encouraged him to give it another try. Ben then turned back to Isaac after the second attempt (that just rattled out), and offered him a fist bump and a generous smile.
That was a 20-second connection my young basketball fanatic will never forget and it was a moment that usually never happens. Ben made a choice; he went out of his way, minutes before the biggest game of his young basketball career, to make a kid’s day. Thanks Ben, your gesture didn’t go unnoticed.
And thanks as well to the OUA, for not only making Athletes for Africa the weekend’s charitable beneficiary, but for getting me (and Isaac) back into the gym for Canadian university basketball. It was a incredible reminder of the character of so many of this country’s student-athletes and the quality people they grow to become through the support of great programs and coaches, even well after that final buzzer.

Adrian Bradbury
Founder & executive director, Athletes for Africa
Toronto


I was there, drinking in that entire weekend, and I had no idea this exchange took place.

What amazing people we still have left in this world.

Lesson: take an extra second. you never know what simple gesture will effect someone.

Enjoy your Monday! I will.

Leave a Reply

