It’s okay to say, “I love you” Pt. 2

Happy Valentines, lovies!

Even though I wish you all well, and gave cards to all of my coworkers, I’m still not fond of the day.

O-M-GEEE, I want to be Barbie! p.s. Some of the world’s happiest news did take place today, though. She said YES!

As I left the gym today I saw drones of men searching the aisles of Loblaws to find something that resembled flowers, candy and a card.  This was at 8 p.m. Oh ya, because nothing says “Baby, you mean the world to me.” more than last minute shopping at the grocery store. If it wasn’t so forced, maybe people could see something that resembled real feeling instead of wilted over-priced flowers.

I digress.

I have coasted through the day, not thinking about love much until I saw this:

One of my goals was to be my true authentic self. That self is a lot of things, one of those being emotional (one is also a bitch). I could use this infinite goodness Kris speaks of though, so here we go.

I LOVE:

1. My family – Sister, mom and dad are supportive, caring and funny as hell.

2. My friends – a small group, but powerful. I’d jump in front of bullets.

3. Myself – it takes a whole lot to write this one, but I do love me.

4. Smiles – They tell so much about a person’s soul. A smile is a gateway.

5. Sweat – Be it from yoga or running the ability to sweat it all out reminds me how lucky I am to have the ability.

6. Opinion – I have the right and ability to share it whenever (and as often as) I choose.

7. My animals – Yes, the ridiculous things my dog and cat do. I love them. They live in the moment and enjoy being alive, and it reminds me to do the same.

8. Manners – Random acts of kindness, please, thank you, and holding doors. Its too infrequent lately.

9. Sunshine – Vitamin D does more for my sparkling attitude than a venti latte.

10. A cup of tea – no matter the situation sitting with a warm cup of tea makes me smile from the inside.

I think that’s a pretty LOVELY list, if I do say so myself.

Even though I’m a grinch on Valentine’s Day it does remind me that true love needs to be expressed much more openly. I don’t say it enough, and at times I have been terrified to say it. I dated someone I loved, but even after months together couldn’t say ‘I love you’ seriously; we kept it as a joke. I meant it. I think he did, too. I often call my Mimi and hang up without telling her I love her. She makes my heart burst, the world’s most interesting and loving woman.

Mom and dad – I love you!

Sister – love you, cha-cha!

My dear friends – Love you!

Laura Elizabeth – I love you!

Life – love you, too!

3 responses to “It’s okay to say, “I love you” Pt. 2”

  1. sister says :

    Aaannnnd, I cried

  2. Jackie @ Baking Charms says :

    I love your list 🙂 Oh, and my boss sent his assistant to get a vday card for his girlfriend… yesterday afternoon. Ugh.

Trackbacks / Pingbacks

  1. Plus one. « scribbles and sass - April 3, 2011

Leave a Reply

