It’s okay to say, “I love you.” Pt. 1

I think the greatest thing about this post is that it builds up excitement, knowing there will at least be one more installment. Why else would I put Pt. 1? I’m not that cruel. But now that I’ve sucked you in, get comfortable.

Today is February 11, a day that means nothing. In three days it will be February 14, also a day that means nothing.

No I’m not heartless, I’m just a dude. I think Valentines Day is consumer driven and doesn’t represent real love. Hate me yet?

As I said to Shannon on the phone today, or to Todd over bbm (for a holiday I don’t like I sure talk about it a lot) I’d rather have someone express their love to me on a random day where the world hasn’t given them a forced reminder to. I don’t hate on those who enjoy the day, but relationship or not, it’s not my cup of tea. (Tea on the other hand, I love!)

I am Captain Single this year, and will most likely be celebrating this love-filled day sweating and swearing at the gym. BUT just in case someone did want to buy me something (I love cards, don’t want gifts, but hey I wont say no to a gift) here is my Valentine’s Day wish list:

1. Tiny Devotions Rose Quartz Mala

I *may* have ties to Tiny Devotions, check them out on Twitter, and have the African Turquoise mala already, but the next one on my list is Rose Quartz. Rose Quartz is the stone of love, the heart chakra and infinite peace.
As a gift from a friend or loved one this stone helps attract love, open the heart, restore trust and harmony.

2. Classique by Jean Paul Gaultier

Possibly one of the most delicate yet exotic (erotic?) scents I have smelled. I have really liked this perfume since I was in high school. I’m actually not sure why I have never bought it. I think I’m a bit of a Dolce & Gabanna snob and really really like The One, my current scent.

3. Reused Jewelry Organizer


Well by now you’ve already got me my Rose Quartz mala, so I’m going to need somewhere to store it. I couldn’t dream up anything better than this old drawer converted to a jewelry organizer that I found on Esty. Even if you don’t get it for me I’m considering just purchasing it for myself. I really have fallen hard for it.

4. Cottage Frames

Pottery Barn. That is all. Well, I guess I’ll expand a little on this one. I think my favourite home accessory is frames. A rough count of the ones I can see from my current perch on the couch is nine….there are many more I can’t see.

5. Hilarious Greeting Card

Nothing says love like a simile. One of the fastest ways to my heart is through inappropriate humor. Others are charm, good looks, and lots of money. Kidding! We can thank Esty for this gem, too.

6. Gladiolas


When all else fails, get a girl her all-time favourite flower. Mine are Gladiolas. No roses or lilies or daisies or tulips for this chick, far too common.I like me some strange, just look how they twist and bloom in crazy directions.

Oh and make sure it’s gift wrapped. I may just melt.

SO now its on you: Are you a Valentines Day celebrator? What is on your wish list come Monday? Are you going to get me anything?

4 responses to “It’s okay to say, “I love you.” Pt. 1”

  1. Jackie @ Baking Charms says :

    I love that jewelry organizer!! I need something for my jewelry… right now they are all tangled in a bag in my closet. Whoops 😉

Leave a Reply

