Don’t phone it in.

Jillian Michaels is one scary woman!

My Sunday night is usually reserved for Power Yoga, at PYC where I volunteer weekly. I sweat and struggle, and crow and groan for 75 minutes before coming home and passing out.

Today is an exception. It’s Superbowl Sunday!

That meant something till about 3:30 p.m. today when my plans got canceled. With no big Superbowl plans, I went for tea with Andrea instead. I am happy the way things worked out; though I missed the chicken wings and pitchers of beer I am glad I got to talk through some serious shit with my bestie. It’s been a weird weekend – a few fights and a few fights resolved – low moments and proud moments.

Proud moment: Sister took her first hot yoga class. Now there is a bit of upset that she didn’t go with me, but I’m still exuberant that she went! I still get to take credit for bringing her to her first yoga class.

This got me motivated to move my ass…this is where J. Michaels comes into play. No wait, that’s too obvious…Jillian M.

I popped in my 30 Day Shred DVD, and took it easy with Level 1.

If you have never heard of Jillian’s approach,  the DVD has 22 minutes of circuits. She starts with a two-minute warm up, followed by three six-minute circuits (each circuit has three minutes of strength training, two minutes of cardio and one minute of abs), and ends with a two-minute cool down.

So I threw down my mat and picked up my hand weights and got to it. Jillian kicked my butt. It made me realize that my ankle may not be ready for jumping jacks. It’s been hurting all weekend, so maybe that had something to do with it, too. When I get at it tomorrow, I’m going to put the brace on and hopefully that helps.We are going to conquer fear of fear and just plow through it.

I know one of my major problems is that I’m too flighty. I like to bounce around and don’t really commit to things well. (Hi. I’m Laura and I’m a commitment-phobe.) Yeah we got a little deep and personal, but hey that’s how I roll. I’m really going to try with this one because: 1. It’s good for me, 2. It’s only 22 minutes a day, and 3. I need to commit to things.

Hold me accountable!

One day down, 29 to go.

Trackbacks / Pingbacks

  1. com·mit. « scribbles and sass - April 22, 2011

Leave a Reply

